Translate this page:

Hi, I'm happy to say that I'm slowly starting to draw things that have more meaning behind them. It's also one of the rare moments when background also plays a key role in a drawing. And that's why I'm writing a whole post about it, yay!

Image of a bedroom from top view with distorted lens effect. Dog character sits on a bed and looks at floor. Viewer sees him from the back, so no face is shown. Bedroom has a window, a nightstand, a bed and a plant. The room is placed in black void

The first part of this post will be about the meaning of this picture, and the rest is technical aspects!

Background

If you get self-isolated vibes from looking at this drawing, then you're right.

I'm a Russian immigrant that now lives in a country which language I don't know at all, which leads me to self marinate myself in a room without socializing much outside. More importantly, I have to move to another country again due to pro-Russian and queerphobic laws the country is leaning towards, and that leaves me in a sort of "stuck in a limbo" feeling. Can't go back but can't go further neither because need to wait for visa. This also prevents me from socializing because why bother if I won't live here anyway.

In the description I wrote "Эмалированное судно, окошко, тумбочка, кровать" (translation: "Enameled bedpan, window, nightstand, bed") which is a reference to a poem "Sudno" by Boris Ryzhy, but mostly I was inspired by Molchat Doma's song with same name that also referenced the poem. In fact, I wanted to make a music video, but I understood that it was overambitious for me, so for now it will stay just as a single image.

Now for the technical aspects!

Used programs: Sweet Home 3D, Blender, Fotosketcher, Krita (all free).

The only non-3D element here is a drawing of my fursona. I've used Sweet Home 3D to set up a room, so all the models belong to them. It's a program specifically for interior design, but it attracted me for the ability to export models to .obj files, which is needed for blender.

Screenshot of a Sweet Home 3D

Now that I converted models to obj. file and rendered in Blender and adjusted colors in Krita, I processed the render through FotoSketcher - program that gives painterly look.

before

(Before)

after

(After)

The rest is just some editing in Krita where I mixed both of the images and then added my fursona which is the only hand drawn thing here, actually.

Here you can look at the end result again:

Image of a bedroom from top view with distorted lens effect. Dog character sits on a bed and looks at floor. Viewer sees him from the back, so no face is shown. Bedroom has a window, a nightstand, a bed and a plant. The room is placed in black void

I'd like to hand over these insights for free, and if you want to support me, you can throw some momney in my ko-fi

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com